Anyone from GERMANY?

Hi Newbie here! American living in Munich (in FFM for business at the moment). Avid LV collector and just purchased the Roses speedy. Am very very excited about it. I was finally able to put my german lessons to good use...they wouldn't sell the Sprouse collection to tourists in Frankfurt! :biggrin: :biggrin:

Hi again, everyone! I've just had the day from hell and thought this would be the best place to vent about it. I'm in Berlin at the FU on a Fulbright. I'm an American, finished my doctorate in the States, and am at the Habilitation stage right now, and I'm assigned with an adviser during my time here. I love luxury items like handbags and shoes, as everyone else here does too or you wouldn't be on this forum. I think I dress conservatively but as well as I possibly can, especially when I'm at the university. Well, Monday of this week a note popped up in front of me during one of the seminars from a woman who said she urgently needed to talk to me. We exchanged phone numbers and today she called. She said that "everyone" (I have no idea who "everyone" is supposed to be. I still hardly know anyone here.) was saying that I was having a relationship with my male adviser. When I asked her why on earth anyone would think such a thing, she said that it was because I always came dressed so elegantly and that people thought it was to try to entice this man. I was dumbfounded!

I thought it was funny that she also told me that I must be from "upper-class" just like she is and that she understands, but that I need to start wearing different clothes when I am at the university. **Actually, I'm about as redneck, backwoods hick as it gets. I'm from Oklahoma/Texas originally, hardly "upper-class."** I told my husband about it today on the phone (My husband is from Sweden by the way.) and he had a good laugh about it all.