A small bomb dropped on me today at work....

Mar 26, 2007
I've been at my new job for almost six months now. I love it here and I love the people I work with. We've been planning on expanding our building for a long time now because we are growing SO fast and we're out of room.

Well, today we find out they hired someone new... and that person is taking my office... and the only place left for me is next to our packaging plant in a cubbyhole with a large-format printer, ink and supplies... there is no carpet, just concrete slab, and no door and everything has to stay in there (the large format printer, stacks of shelving and supplies, rolls of paper), plus cramming my desk in. I'm sick over it. I'm a graphic designer and I can't work where it's noisy like that-- the plant is on the other side of the non-insulated wall, so besides being cold, it's very loud and there is no door, no way to block out sound. This is very much like Milton in Office Space who got moved to the basement, and I know that's kind of amusing, but I'm pretty upset. I'm the only person in Print Production-- everything goes through me before it goes out the door so I feel like my job is very important. I might also mention I am the only girl in my department, which occupies one half of the building we're in.

I talked to the president of the company and asked if there were any other options, but the only other option is to have MY boss, who is amazing, take that space-- and we can't put our art director in there! So I'm stuck, and I'm miserable. We're moving everything over today, and I'm going to be alone there, isolated from everyone I work with, and it's loud and dusty and noisy but I feel like I've said enough and I just need to suck it up and deal with it.

Advice?

I'm so sorry, that is a bummer. We are having a lot of changes in our workplace too (in different regards) and I am not liking it much. How big is the office? Is there any way for you to share the space with the new person?