My first day of training at Neiman! And a bit of a dilemma...

xochrissie

Hello, lover!
O.G.
Mar 24, 2006
For the past month, I've been going through rigorous interviews with managers and directors at Neiman Marcus for a position in handbags. I was told there was 2 spots in handbags and 1 spot in accessories. The manager was not sure if he would like me to be in handbags or accessories (since I have no prior experiences in another major department store or in handbags only stores.) Last week, the HR manager called and extended an offer to me for the position. I was jumping in joy! :yahoo: Just to be sure, I asked which position am I being hired for and she told me handbags. So today, I had my first day of training. There were 2 other girls in there who introduced themselves as new SAs in the handbags department. So there are the 3 of us, all hired for the handbags department.

Now I'm afraid that I'm really hired for the acceossries department (which I would not have accepted the offer). I asked my boyfriend for some advices (since he's a manager at a bank and deals with a lot of hiring procedures). He told me that if they extended the offer in the handbags department, then they cannot go back and change it once I had accepted the offer unless I agree to the changes.

I'm just worried b/c I love handbags. I don't want to be in the back selling sunglasses. :sad:

What does everyone think? If they did mean to hire me for accessories, can they change it now that they had extended the offer for handbags and I have in fact accepted the offer? :shrugs:

Sorry for the long story. I think I just need a little bit of encouragement. :s

Hey There,

The sad reality of California's At Will Employment practice is that they can probably tell you it's the new position or allow you to decline employment altogether. :sad:

However, there are probably more knowledgable gals out there that can offer better legal guidance. :confused1: