Types of Coach Leather

cz22

O.G.
Jan 4, 2009
So I am new to Coach, and I see a lot of types of leather mentioned - Madison, Garcia, Vancetta, etc. I don't know what they mean or if different types need to be taken care of differently.

Any insight into these types of leathers, especially from owners of Coach purses in that leather variety, would be useful.

Any answers about:
Leather weight, texture, appearance, care, cost/value/rarity
Coach items and what type of leather they are made from. Durability of these items.

Thank You!

I was reading the Wikipedia section, "The Ancient methods of tanning," and laughed my head off. It's so disgusting. :yucky:

I hope Coach does not employ any of those methods to make the bags we've come to enjoy. :roflmfao: (If you're curious, I dare you to read that section!)

This will get you started in the right direction.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Leather

Thanks, but I still have no clue how Garcia or Madison leathers compare. Though I did learn that "Vachetta leather is used in the trimmings of luggage and handbags, popularized by Louis Vuitton. The leather is left untreated and is therefore susceptible to water and stains. Sunlight will cause the natural leather to darken in shade, called a patina."

Good to know for treatment and where to find it on the bags.

Garcia leather has a sheen to it and I feel it's pretty durable. The Madison leather in my experience with the Magenta Sabrina tends to scratch easy although I've heard tpf'ers say their bags are not getting scratched. Depends on the piece and color of the leather, I guess...

Hmmmm, I will try to answer this one. These are my definitions.....

Legacy leather (from 2006-2007) is the most coveted.
It is very thick and gorgeous. It is also very heavy and scratches easily....
It has almost a 'waxy' quality to it.

Garcia leather is thinner and has a glossy sheen to it.
It is a much lighter weight and was used in the 2008 Legacy bags.