Why is there a shortage of CHANEL Black w/Silver Caviar Grande Shopping Totes?

wiley12

Dec 29, 2007
I just got my first Chanel bag this Christmas! I am so excited! :yahoo:La! La! La! BUT I am new to how the whole Chanel inventory thing works..and a bit confused. Will someone explain why I was told by the sales guy at the Chanel store in McLean that the Black Caviar Shopping Tote is sold out and no one knows if or when they will make more, and then a few stores down at NM the sales person gladly found me the bag in the computer and had it shipped to me within 3 business days? They all said it is a popular bag, so why the shortage, are they not making more? Or do they stop making them to make the demad higher???:heart:

:welcome: Welcome! Congrats on your GST! It's from the Timeless collection and should always be in production. Possible shortage could be holiday and the new type of 'washed'(don't shine as much) caviar is comming out soon?

^Ya, I went to SCP (in Cal.) Chanel inside the Bloomingdale's and they were out of GST. Also went to the Chanel boutique and they were also out of the Black GST (I was searching for gold hw)...not sure about the silver. Had them order me 1.

Neway....I later found out from the Bloomingdale's Chanel that they were sold out in New York as well. This was on 12/23.

Later, dh and son found me a Black GST w/ gold hw from NM @ Fashion Island on 12/24! (We then cancelled my previous order).

The SAs were telling me that they had a lot of people asking for the GSTs. So, yep I guess they were just in demand with the holidays.

btw, Congrats on finding your GST, and ENJOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:yahoo:

Some places are sold out. Given that it's around Christmas, I don't think it's really too suprising. I do think Chanel, even in their permenant collections tends to have less merchandise at a time than say, LV or something though.