My hair is stright as a whip! what can i do to make it wavy/curly?

MakeupVixen

Aug 3, 2007
Hey! I'm Kirstie and Im totally new to this fourm and I have a question about hair types. I have stick stright fine hair, and its still growing out because I did a stupid thing and bleached it a few times (extremly bad idea, and i'm never bleaching again haha) so my hair was dead for about a year. But now its healthy again and although its not all one length I wanna make it curly! lol. So if you have any tips or something it would be appreciated! :biggrin:

**Kirstie:heart:

I tried to use the curling iron and rollers to make waves but rollers and curling spray did the trick. But then I was too lazy to do curlers each morning so I ended up going to get a permanent wave.

I also have congenitally and incorrigibly straight hair, so I can relate to your desire to have curls and waves - even once in a while, even for a little while, but the only thing that you could really do is curl it with chemicals, which would be just as bad, maybe even worse, for it than bleaching it.

I remember the day of my junior prom, spending twelve hours, yes, twelve hours! in a salon, where the entire staff tried everything they could think of to make my dream of those godawful sausage-curled updos that were unfortunately popular back in that particular paleolithic era come true, and finally ended up essentially sculpting them out of about a half ton of Dipity-Do (the preferred styling gel of Ancient Man) and Aqua-Net Laquer - not just the spray, mind you, Laquer, all on top of an infrastructure of old school hairpins laid in about every quarter inch all over my head - and even with all that, the whole tragi-comic study in experimental architecture began to derail before the goo on the "going out the door" Polaroids was dry.

The good news is that today, thanks to the magic of extensions, you CAN have curls - and without wearing a wig, which was the only real choice for a long time.