Organs for sale: what do you think?

madamefifi

cat hoarder
O.G.
Aug 23, 2006
Personally I think that if I am ever really desperate for $$ and can find a buyer, I would not have a problem selling one of my kidneys. I mean, why not? I am unclear on why some folks find this unethical or morally outrageous or whatever. True, it means that rich people are going to get their transplants "ahead" of the people who have to wait on a list, but on the other hand cadaveric organs will be more readily available once the rich people are taken off the lists, KWIM? And saying (as I have heard it argued) that the best way to "stop" the organ "black market" is for everyone to become organ donors is weak, because those organs still aren't available until someone dies, and besides not all donor organs are usable. I should know, I am a transplant nurse and I can't tell you how many patients we've pre-op'ed only to send home untransplanted because the organ was no good due to infection or fatty infiltrate or long delay between the "death" of the donor and the procurement of the organs, etc etc. Plus who wants to wait around for an organ, meanwhile being on dialysis 3 times a week or whatever and getting sicker and sicker? So if you could go online and "buy" or "sell" an organ--say a kidney or a section of liver or a lung--would you?