Workplace Boss caught me on the internet...advice?

So I'm a student, and I work occasionally at my uni in an administrative office as a student assistant. I've had this job for a few years now. It's nothing crazy - filing, running odd jobs, etc. The office has always been pretty lax.

Anyways, often during my marathon filing sessions I'll have my computer screen on and have a news page up, reading articles while I file (sites like CNN, Yahoo, NYT, school website, etc) There has never been a problem in my few years of being there. I never go on social media sites, online shop, weird sites, etc.

Out of the blue today the office boss mentions to my sort-of supervisor "xxx looks like they're on FB" or something along the lines of that (he didn't even say it to me personally so I'm not sure what exactly was said) and later this sort-of supervisor just mentioned to me "Just so you know, bossman has seen you on FB or something, so just watch it...." and that's it. :shame:

Again, I'm NEVER on social media/etc during work hours. I guess the article I was reading looked like a social media site (like the comments section, etc) I mean, I guess I'm just confused as to why this is a problem now? It has NEVER been brought up before - maybe it was just because it looked like I was on social media/FB which was a problem?

What would you suggest I do? I mean bossman didn't say anything to me personally so would it be weird to send an email?