Please help me to decide: Gucci "Sunset" medium tote vs LV Montorgueil

calcid

Feb 5, 2010
Hi everyone,
I am new to TPF. I am ready to purchase a new bag within this month, but I need your opinions.

I have two bags in my mind: the first one is Gucci Sunset medium tote from Spring 2010 collection which is priced at $1100.

This is the bag, but in a bigger size: http://www.gucci.com/us/us-english/us/spring-summer-10/handbags/#0-1141620-232943FSD1N8469

Oh! I do have another question for owners of this tote: Do the straws easily get loosed?

Another one is LV Montorgueil PM which costs $800.

I love the multi-color straws on that Gucci tote which is so unique, yet, I love the shape of LV Montorgueil PM which is so classic.

So, which one will you choose and why?

Your opinions are greatly appreciated. Thanks!

I don't know if anyone on the gucci forum right now owns any of those straw bags. I only have a straw wristlet (by Coach) and the straws didn't come loose - but I also gave it away recently. The only thing is that the straw bag is very seasonal but you are right, the multicolour is very pretty and unique. It makes more of a statement than the Montorgueil. However the montorgueil can be used everyday and for every season. It's also probably a lot less maintenance except for the vachetta handles.

I don't like LV that much except for their leather lines but in this case, I would prefer the montorgueil because personally I don't have much use for a straw bag and the montorgueil would be a good everyday kind of bag. Now if it was in the multicolour gg plus canvas or guccissima leather, I would go with the gucci.

hi! I'm both a Gucci lover and an LV lover and I prefer the Montorgeuil. That gucci seems more for a mature lady and the Monty i think would be fitting for a young and older person. I guess i'm kinda biased too as I have the Montorgeuil PM and i absolutely love it! it's an easy bag to carry, good for daytime, and evening, very roomy.