Do you have to have a lot of money to carry a birkins?

PurseFanatic said:
Please forgive me for my ignorance, I'm new to Birkin, which style is 10K?

I think some of the ladies here were speaking of bags bought in Asia, perhaps? There a Birkin could be $10K in USD.
A Birkin in basic leather will hover around $6-$7.5K

I think you don't have to have a lot of money to carry such a bag. If you got spare finances and if you've achieved your goal in education , you should buy yourself a Birkin, think it as a reward you deserve it.

for those who have birkins... have you gotten special attention for carrying a birkin?
also, if a 20something year old is carrying a birkin... would the reaction be "wow" or would it be "did she sell everything she owned to carry a birkin?"

saraNY said:
also, if a 20something year old is carrying a birkin... would the reaction be "wow" or would it be "did she sell everything she owned to carry a birkin?"
If I saw a young 'un wih a Birkin I'd think she had money - especially if her clothes and grooming suggested the same. I'm not even talking obviously expensive clothes. You could be dressed in something like skinny jeans, a white T-shirt, cute flats and a Birkin and look fabulous!

Someone else was asking about being too old for a Birkin...I don't think there's such a thing. It's been a high-status, high-ticket bag for so long, that I'd fully expect to see 80 year-old ladies with them - and looking spectacular too! You can look great at any age, and you can carry great accessories at any age. I certainly intend to both look and *be* fabulous when I'm older. If I'm lucky I'll be rockin' a Birkin along with my cane. :lol:

foxmonkey said:
Someone else was asking about being too old for a Birkin...I don't think there's such a thing. I certainly intend to both look and *be* fabulous when I'm older. If I'm lucky I'll be rockin' a Birkin along with my cane. :lol:

Amen and hallelujah to that!