Zoo baby photos

bagnshoofetish

Oh. Gee.
O.G.
Feb 12, 2006
wanted to share a couple of photos of a couple of our babies at work. Here is our youngest gerenuk, Hurley.
ShowLetter

so cute, i want your job. i'm majoring in either biology or zoology. just curious what degree do you have?

I don't have a degree. I did it backwards! I volunteered, got hired and take animal science classes every now and then. I have always done alot of reading through the years to educate myself (not to mention had a menagerie of animals growing up). I am one of the extreme rare cases of being hired w/o a degree. The thing is, you can have a PhD and still not have what it takes to be a keeper (ie; animal sense) but by all means do pursue your education - it is all good!
where are you going to school?

I don't have a degree. I did it backwards! I volunteered, got hired and take animal science classes every now and then. I have always done alot of reading through the years to educate myself (not to mention had a menagerie of animals growing up). I am one of the extreme rare cases of being hired w/o a degree. The thing is, you can have a PhD and still not have what it takes to be a keeper (ie; animal sense) but by all means do pursue your education - it is all good!
where are you going to school?
lucky you, no degree! I'm going to the ohio state university. i do a good bit of reading about animals (dogs mostly) and animal psychology, have had many animals growing up, and did 4h so i hope i have some sort of animal sense. when did you start volunteering? do most of the keepers have a PhD or just a 4 year degree (if so in what)? sorry for annoying questions, i haven't really talked to any zookeepers, so i can't ask questions.:shrugs:

when did you start volunteering? do most of the keepers have a PhD or just a 4 year degree (if so in what)? sorry for annoying questions, i haven't really talked to any zookeepers, so i can't ask questions.:shrugs: