Taking a trip during the school year... ??

Adore

"BLONDIE"
Sep 17, 2006
My boyfriend and I may take a few days off and go away since he has time to take off before the end of the year.

I'm in my last semester. I have only taken summer trips and 1 spring break trip.

We are planning to take a trip on a Thursday and come back on a Saturday, nothing huge but I'd miss 2 days of class. One class depending on what days (it switches) I may or may not meet that Thursday, but there's another scheduled class. Then I have 2 Friday classes.

I checked my syllabi and no exams are near that date except one is tentative... I may or may not miss an exam. I'd have to talk to my instructor about it ASAP if we make this plan.

HOW do you take off time during a semester at college? I'm only talking 2 days in the week here but even if I'm sick I don't miss a FULL day of classes like that... and it will be 3-4 classes, but easy to catch up. The possibility of an exam in one of them bothers me though.

I feel weird doing this... my 8th semester and I've never done this. Do I just explain I'm going away? Is there ever a chance an instructor would not let you make up an exam? Should I say it's a wedding??

Thanks for any help. My last semester by the way... didn't take a summer vacation and I'm sooo itching to go.

Is there a day that u dont have classes?? meaning if u dont have classes on monday, it might be best to just go on friday night, and enjoy the weekend...and come back mon morning...

Just let your professors know ahead of time to get the work. Syllabuses are really useful for planning ahead what days to miss. Also! Do any classes have mandatory attendance? If not, I wouldn't worry too badly, just get the important notes from a friend. And have fun!