Stylist messes up a special occassion hair-do... advice?

IntlSet

Bonjour!
Jan 29, 2006
Hi ladies,

If you go into a fairly high-end end salon to get your hair styled for an evening event (let's say you also bring in lots of photos from him to copy from) and you end up hating the outcome, what to do? Do you say something? Refuse to pay? Ask him to start all over? :sad:

Thanks!

This has happened to me before. I asked my stylist to start over. If I'm paying a lot of money for it then it better be to my liking. Don't worry, I gave him a very generous tip :biggrin:

that happened to my friend before a winter formal back in high school and she was so sad, so i brought over a curling iron and tried to salvage it lol. i say if it's your hair and your event then its your choice on exactly how you want it too look.

I didn't think you sounded like a b:censor: h, Pursegalsf! At least you tipped well in the end! :amuse: When I was a hairstylist/makeup artist one of my specialities was updos or special event hairstyling, so I did alot of weddings, proms, opening nights, etc. One of THE most important thing is to LISTEN to the client and always ask the client questions, never assume. If you do enough of these (updos) you could read the clients faces easily and see that they are not happy with the style! Not every hairstylist do updos and if they do them, make sure they have done them alot!...it's almost like a natural talent, a very creative mind is key! In the salon I use to work at, out of the 8 stylists only 2 of us did updos! They're very stressful to do, because the client is usually anxious and very tense, which is understandable, they want to look their best on that special day. Definitely, tell the stylist to do it over if you are not happy, otherwise it will ruin your special event and you'll have memories of it in pictures too! A good stylist would never let you leave until you are happy and satisfied!