shopping my own stash

sdkitty

O.G.
Jan 16, 2006
Recently I've been on a hair and brow obsession. I decided powder makeup (lined first with pencil) was better than the cream/gel stuff I had. I started playing around with my brown eye shadows. I discovered two that work (NYX), then went into my drawer and found an old Smashbox one that's even better. Don't recall why I put it away but now it's back in use.
For my hair, I was going to buy new shampoo and found a bunch of sample hair products and two half-used shampoos.
Do you stash things and forget about them?

Yes, I stash and forget things all the time. I buy makeup and then put it in a drawer to use after I finish using what is currently on my dresser. The problem is that it takes a long time to finish a product, so the new items languish in my drawer. I have tried to make myself stop buying until I need something, but I'm always finding new things I want to try.
My big downfall is lipstick. I have forced myself to wear it every day, even if I am working at home full time and no one sees me. Despite reapplying often throughout the day, I was not able to make a dent in my collection. So last week I severely edited my lipsticks. I tried on every shade (found that they were all remarkably similar) and decided what were my top two for spring summer, and top two for fall/winter. Then I threw the rest away. I felt bad for a moment, but I am relieved now when I don't see all those unloved lipsticks crowding my makeup tray.
With shampoos and skin care, I have been more successful. During the pandemic when I wasn't traveling, I pulled out all my travel and half-used bottles and made myself finish them before I restocked.