Workplace New Job and Losing Friends...

Crystalina

O.G.
Mar 22, 2007
Hi, everyone.

I guess I'm writing this thread because I need support and maybe just want to see if anyone else has encountered this.

Anyway, I am a teacher and worked in a very small private school for the past two years. I became close with another teacher and my two teaching assistants.

Long story short, the school has been losing funding, so I've been worried about long-term job security, not to mention that I gave myself a $23,000 raise by leaving the private school and going to a large district (which gave me the opportunity to teach in the area I am trained in).

I'm not from the city I'm currently living in, and so the people at the private school became my friends. However, ever since I got the job with the large district, they are upset with me, hardly text me back and one sent me an email (I think just to find out more about my new job, like a fact-finding mission) and when I replied, her response was quite ''cool.''

I know on paper I did the right thing. More money, longer-term stability, teaching the subject matter that I LOVE and was trained for....but I'm feeling kind of sad and lost.:sad:

Lesson learned, be sure to make friends outside of work----and I will start doing that now. The teacher I worked with has still remained friendly and we get together and do things, but I'm just really bummed how the other two have dropped me.

Thanks for listening.

Don't be hard on yourself for doing what is best for you. If they are not happy for you they were not your real friends. In these hard times be happy of what you accomplished, you got a new job with a raise!

I'm sorry you're feeling sad about potentially losing friends, but I think that's a natural part of life. When you don't see eachother as often things tend to "soften" and "cool off".

Congratulations on your new job and a BIG step in the right direction. Had I been in your position I would have chosen the same thing :smile: