Need legal advice

mornbean

Sep 17, 2006
A situation occured at work and I need some legal advice.

I am a male transit bus driver. An off duty supervisor entered a female driver's bus while she was off the bus to use a restroom. Her purse was hidden out of view and you had to look and feel to find it. The off duty supervisor searched her bus and found her purse. He then picked it up, opened it up and looked through the purse without her consent.

She brought this to our director's attention and he said that anything on the bus unattended is fair game.

My question is this. If someone just started looking through a women's purse without her knowledge or consent, what law is being broken? There has to be some law violated or else this would be happening everyday. Can anyone help me on this as the woman involved isn't sure what to do. I told her the State's Attorney would know but she doesn't want to go there and look like a fool.

Any help is really appreciated.

I am not sure about this(someone correct me if I am wrong), but don't you need a warrant to search someone's personal belongings?
Edit: Did she notice anything missing from her purse after the supervisor searched through it?

She's honest and said nothing was missing from the purse. She could have lied and said there was money missing or something along those lines but like I said, she's an honest person.

Our director said only the police need a warrant. As the supervisor was not a police officer, our management feels it's much ado about nothing. They did discuss the situation with the supervisor but they still feel he had every right to violate her privacy.

I know there has to be a law against this but I can't find anything online as to what law it may be.

Okay, I have to ask . . .
why did you ask a Purse Forum that's primariliy about our obsessive love for handbags?
We're not primarily comprised of attorneys, in fact, there's a whole bunch of young teens here.