Need input of ladies who own City/Giant City/or First

Jessica613

Jan 14, 2008
Hello,

Thanks to the member who posted dimensions and prices of all Balenciaga bag styles.

However, I have begun to narrow down my choices of which bag to purchase. I am looking for an everyday black bag that will last me for years to come. I am a college student and work part time at a clothing store so I am fairly casual most of the time. I originally was set on the giant city, but now I am leaning more towards the First (Le Dix) bag in black that I fell in love with several years ago. What do you all think of the giant hardware? I normally love huge hardware but I also do love the subtleness of the classic bags. I am also considering just the classic city bag. Any input is appreciated. BTW does the le dix come with a strap?

The First is $995 and only comes with regular hardware (RH)

City w/RH $1195
City w/GSH or GGH $1595

Both the First & City come with shoulder straps. I personally own a First, City w/RH and City w/GGH and think the best one to start out with is a City since it is large enough for everyday use. IMO the First is a bit small and not practical if you carry a lot of stuff. Hope this helps a little.

Well, the first is my absolute favorite bal style of all time. I LOVE the way it looks, it's so light and easy to carry, and my black first is my favorite bag out of all my bals. I get a little shiver every time I pull it out.

That being said, the first is a bit small for most ladies, and although I don't carry a ton with me, I do downsize a bit when I switch to my first. Still, it carries all my essentials. If you carry a lot with you, then the city is probably a better size- I definitely prefer regular over giant hardware. My city bag is my least favorite to use, because I find it awkward. But I think I'm in the minority when it comes to that particular opinion.