Lifers, When Will You be Done With Hermes?

Oct 19, 2008
Love etoupe. Don’t have a Birkin anymore. I have a 31 Bolide and love it.
My opinion, I’ve been collecting Hermes for 40+ years.
  • I have more scarves than I care to count. A scarf is going to have to blow me away for me to buy it.
  • I lead a very casual lifestyle as a semi-retired consultant. Read: I am not buying $10-20K in RTW items per year any more.
  • My home is furnished. No need for that. Don’t need/want any more China/crystal.
  • Hermes fine jewelry doesn’t thrill me anymore; I have Hermes sterling and I don’t wear costume jewelry. I bought significant H fine jewelry in the past.
Over time, I have invested in the high six, if not seven figures at Hermes in those 40+ years of collecting. Why can’t I get a blasted 25 Kelly if I want one?!!! I inquired about said Kelly because I had a major life event and I wanted the bag as a celebration. I asked whether it was feasible from my current SA and SM. And I got the same baloney as a newbie wanting a quota bag.

Because H only cares about clients who spend money now — quid pro quo.

As a result, I’m going the bespoke bag route to complete my collection.

Love etoupe. Don’t have a Birkin anymore. I have a 31 Bolide and love it.
My opinion, I’ve been collecting Hermes for 40+ years.
  • I have more scarves than I care to count. A scarf is going to have to blow me away for me to buy it.
  • I lead a very casual lifestyle as a semi-retired consultant. Read: I am not buying $10-20K in RTW items per year any more.
  • My home is furnished. No need for that. Don’t need/want any more China/crystal.
  • Hermes fine jewelry doesn’t thrill me anymore; I have Hermes sterling and I don’t wear costume jewelry. I bought significant H fine jewelry in the past.