issue with roommates...Help

envyon

Apr 18, 2006
so i'm a college student that lives in an apartment with 3 other roommates. I've already moved out all my stuff, and I don't plan on going back to the apartment until my lease is over (july 31st) and i have to hand in my keys. Therefore, I plan on just paying for rent, but two of my roommates feel that I still should pay a full 1/4 for utilities like power and water and cable for june and july when i'm not there. Honestly, I find that to be unfair especially because one of my roommates likes to keep the apartment at 68 degrees in spring/summer when I'm not there to move it back to 76-78 degrees.
So what do you guys think? Do u think i'm being unreasonable? or should i just pay up?

just to let you know, 1 roommate is staying for a maymester and working around campus the rest of the summer perhaps going home for a while, the other is staying from june-july, and the other one is not planning on staying at all, like me (but is willing to pay 1/4 of the utilities)

i mean, i'm willing to pay for cable since we signed a 1 yr contract for it, and i agreed to it, therefore i'm obligated to pay. I'm also willing to pay base charges on water and power since i could see it as i'm going on a vacation and i'll still be charged base charges even if i'm not using any power or water. Is that reasonable?

I feel like they will still want me to pay a full 1/4... =/

while i see your point of view (and i also live in an apartment with 3 roommates), i think it's probably still reasonable for them to ask you to pay the full 1/4. you made the commitment to incur the expenses of the apartment for a year, and i think you should honor that if they ask you to, even though you won't technically consume things like power and water while you're not there.

I agree^^