Food Is it true? Organic Food....

D&S

Mar 24, 2010
I was told by a food critique/reporter that choosing organic food was mainly to help the environment and that actually there was little health benefit in organic food...Although I am not an expert in these things, I really can't believe that to be true. :nono:

Many people are under the mistaken belief that organic vegetables have more vitamins and other nutrients than non-organic veggies. That's not true. Not true at all.

Organic veggies and grains do have the big advantage that they are not grown with pesticides, chemical fertilizers and other chemicals. That's a big advantage.

If you're buying veggies that are pulled out of the earth and you're not going to be peeling off much skin (carrots, potatoes, turnips) it's advantageous to pay the extra price for organic. Hopefully those veggies have not been grown in earth steeped in chemicals as they are on large industrial farms. Although you never know of course.

For instance, organic farms are supposed to rely on compost for fertilizer... But some farms use compost created by large municipal dumps from things like grass clippings which have been saturated in lawn chemicals, compost you should never use for growing anything but flowers.

Now the labeling of "organic" on things like bread, pancake mixes, cereal, candy, etc. is a whole 'nother issue. And it's rather controversial. Apparently the federal regulations on that are pretty loose and the feds will allow companies to label as "organic" many foods that are manufactured with preservatives, additives, and other chemicals. You have to read the label carefully on manufactured foods that are labeled "organic" to see what they really contain.

But again, the "organic" cereals, breads, etc. don't have more nutritients than non-organic. Their advantage is that the grains that were used in their creation were grown on a chemical-free organic farm.