Books & Music Ipad vs Kindle vs Nook for lending/free books

etk123

Call me Kiki
O.G.
Nov 9, 2010
Hi ladies!
I'm trying to figure what ereader will suit my needs the most. I've been a die hard public library girl my whole life, so I'm just getting into ereaders.

I have gotten books (paid from itunes) on my iPad. I liked having books on it, but the battery would always die at the best part. Especially if I charged it overnight and then read all day, like on vacation at the beach etc. By late afternoon I would be bookless. Dh has iPad 2 and says the battery would last longer but I haven't tried it. And I also would be bothered by the glare on the shiny iPad, and it could be difficult to read with polarized sunglasses lol.

Kindle/Kindle Fire seems nice, but is it redundant to get either of these if I already have an iPad? My dd has a Kindle, and she's always annoyed about the light situation. But it looks more comfortable for reading outside, and seems to have a longer battery life. She keeps offering it to me, but honestly I don't want to share a library with her! She's only 13, letting her read the Twilight series was HARD for me lol. Also, are the free books available to Amazon Prime members worth the membership fee? Or will I still be paying for most of the popular books?

And that leaves Nook. My mom has one and swear she's never paid for a book. She gets them from B&N website, I believe. But she'd rather read a book she doesn't enjoy than pay for one lol! Does B&N offer alot of free books? Are they good books?

So now I'm curious about online lending libraries. My local public library does offer ebook downloads, but I was just browsing their catalog and didn't come up with much that didn't have a waiting list. I didn't realize ebooks would even have a waiting list! But our library budget has been shrinking for the past few years, so I do understand that they are not putting alot of money into the downloadable books.