I'm sad..and it's my fault!

toiletduck

IG: Alexa.Bui
O.G.
Mar 14, 2006
I'm a fresh grad and had the opportunity to interview last Friday for a temp job at this great finance firm for event planning. However, I was ill and asked her to move it to this past Tuesday. Come Tuesday morning, I'm still ill and decide to re-schedule again since I wanted to be at the top of my game for the interview. I call the woman and she says to email her when I feel better. I email her that evening to apologize and to reschedule, even though I'm still feeling like crap. This morning, I wake up to her email telling me that the position has been filled.

I know it's my fault. I shouldn't have rescheduled the second time. I should've made myself go and sneezed in her face or something. I just feel so stupid for even thinking that she would've waited another day or two when the job starts immediately. Now I feel sick to the stomach and I'm STILL all clogged up from my flu. I'm so stupid, I don't even pity myself because I really don't deserve it. :crybaby:

Things happen for a reason... you just weren't meant to have this job. Bet a better one comes along soon!

I've done a lot of interviews and hiring... if someone in your position had called and told me they were ill but very very interested in the job, I would've appreciated the honesty. Interviews can be done over the phone sometimes, too.

If I had to fill the position ASAP and couldn't wait for the person to be better then I'd certainly keep them in mind for the next time...

Hang in there -- something else is waiting for you!

I agree with twoharleygal...things always happen for a reason... sometimes that reason isnt clear in the beginning.. Just hang in there and surely something better will come up!

thanks for the support, ladies.

i've emailed her back, thanking her for the opportunity and apologizing for messing up our interview. i've also asked her to think of me when she needs to hire help in the future.