Hermes lover - What is your take on Chanel price increase

My thoughts echo everything I read from the others above me.
Most of my mom's handbags were either Chanel or Hermes, and even as a kid, I could immediately tell the difference in quality between the two. The Chanel bags she had were fun & seasonal, but even if the hardware was ruthenium or intentionally aged, over time it'd inevitably show the brass underneath. On the other hand, I remember feeling the leather on her Lindy once and thinking to myself, wow this feels incredible. IDK, somehow caviar leather has always felt like hard durable plastic, kind of like LV's canvas, whereas H's leathers (especially grained ones like Togo/Clemence) felt luxurious. Also, I own a couple Chanel bags and some of them have areas where the seam stitches shows a lot of wear / breakage

Last edited:
I did not intend it to be a poll. And, obviously, this is of interest to at least some Hermes bag lovers. I have been buying Hermès bags since 1981, and it's certainly relevant to me. It may make no sense to you, but a comparison of quality and value between Chanel and Hermes and the fact that Chanel is going head to head with Hermès is VERY relevant to Hermès. However, move it where you feel you must.

Last edited:
I love a lot of Chanel's designs, and would say they are overall arguably more my style than Hermes. That said, I think the prices increases are a joke, and I struggle to buy anything from them now on principle alone. As others have said, there's no increase in quality or after-sales service that they can use to justify it -- it's a slap in the face being asked to pay multiples more for something of lesser quality.