Help me with my bag collection!

Dec 27, 2008
Hi lovely members,
I need a little bit of help expanding my purse "collection". So far, I have a gucci super mini dionysus, YSL baby monogram, prada cahier belt bag, patent chanel classic mini, and a LV pochette felicie mono, all in fairly neutral colors. As you can see, all my bags are tiny crossbody bags (I also have a clutch for special occasions) - and I do prefer it that way; since I'm slender and petite, proportions wise, they sit perfectly on me. Plus I don't carry much on the go (just my keys and phone) so the space they offer is also very suitable for me.
Also, since I'm a student, the price points on the mini bags in designer collections are also usually priced much more reasonably than the bigger bags, which means I can get more goodies that I love!

HOWEVER, I can't help but think (especially after browsing PF and seeing all the eye-candy) I should try to add varied sizes and shapes to my collection - but I don't know how to go about it. I know I don't want a tote bag (WAY too much space for my needs) but I do want to expand the types of bags I currently have.

For example, I do love the dionysus and I was thinking of getting the "small" size - but it's so expensive (2.5-3x the cost of the super mini), and I don't know if I should add another dionysus to my collection. One other consideration I have is I need my bags to last and not be trendy - at this point in time, I need to invest in classics that will last the test of time without looking outdated in a few years. But at the same time I've always bought what I loved (if something is really popular but I don't like it, I won't buy it just because of the hype) and as a result, I've never regretted any of my purchases. So I'm a bit scared of going out of my comfort zone now...