Workplace Complete Career Crisis

Daniela7474

Aug 26, 2006
Hi Ladies---
I'm writing this thread because I'm hoping someone out there with more experience than me will read this and help me out.
I have been a high school teacher for 6 years. I taught at 3 different schools, all four grade levels. I hated it for many reasons, but mostly due to disrespectful/disruptive student attitudes and behavior, as well as the time it took from my personal life and family time. I had NO WEEKENDS FREE, EVER! Yeah, I got lots of holidays off and summer too, but the 9 and a half month school year made me miserable. I dreaded Sundays b/c I had to get lesson plans ready for the week. I hated getting up in the morning. It was hell for 6 years.
I recently quit teaching in May and I am currently not working (my husband and I are living on his salary right now.) I really don't want to teach anymore. I am more than willing to give up summers and holidays off to find work that's more interesting to me.
So here's the problem. The only other thing that's every interested me besides teaching is doing makeup. I don't have the money now to go back to school for makeup/hair.....so I've been thinking of working at a makeup counter, maybe for Clinique or Christian Dior.
Am I crazy? My fellow teacher friends insist that I will hate it, that I am choosing a "job" over a "career," that I will be in a dead end, "loser" job.
Does anyone else out there work at a makeup counter?
Are there career advancement opportunities?
I just really need insight/advice to help me see my situation more clearly.
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE if you have any opinions on this subject or a personal experience that you think might help me, will you please share it?
Thank you so much for your time.
Danielle