Workplace Advice plz : My lack of confidence is ruining my career !!

mellecyn

O.G.
Feb 28, 2006
Some days ago I had a meeting with my manager and she said that I have some great potential that I am not using, I am not self confident enough, I should be more pro active, more "go grab it" on tasks. He is nice and open and would like to help me.....but how ? Also if I don't change, no pay raise, and I will be stuck in the same seat forever....
Also I have to think about my ambitions within the company and come with a plan (which goal, how to reach it), the problem is I have always suffered of lack of self esteem -the way I was raised, always put down by parents- but this past year has been worst, so I don't feel I have any motivation or ambitions !!! I ve been seing a psychologist but I don't feel I am getting anywhere.
I'm waisting myself and my career, I graduated top of the year, had great plans, dreams. I am intelligent and good looking, (former students admire and envy me) my friends tell me that, but still I put my own barriers.....I would like to venture outside that company 1 day but I can't even imagine facing the application process in a competitive field....:sad:
This is a big piece sorry, I asked to my manager to ask to HR if there is a "self development" or "coaching" program possibilities within the company, bc I honestly don't know what else to do to change ?? what do you think ?
Thanks for reading me !:shame:

Is it okay if I ask you what you do for work?

I think visiting a Therapist is a good step to getting over potential self esteem issues that you may have, but if you feel that your current Therapist isn't doing the job - don't hesitate to switch to another!

I used to work in a school in their afterschool program and I also had self esteem & confidence issues. I had issues with yelling to get everyone's attention and disciplining the kids. I took a class on how to better my self confidence, and it made the world of difference!