Books & Music Have you self taught yourself how to play an instrument?

kuruma

Illusionist
Aug 13, 2007
I'm self teaching myself how to play piano and guitar. I've always wondered though: do you often feel you're still worse than others even though you probably could play at their level? Like my friend plays the guitar and he does his chords different from me (as the way he holds down the strings) and even though we make the same sound, I just feel as if he's doing it the 'correct' way. Does anyone else ever feel like that?

And piano... my fingering is all over the place. It's so hard, and even though it sounds good, when you watch me play I look so weird, but when I watch others they look so graceful.

So does anyone feel like they're doing it 'wrong' when they've self taught themselves an instrument?

if it sounds good and is coming from your heart and the pit of your soul, don't worry about being unorthodox. there are talented musicians that can't even read music that well! use proper training as a guideline but remember music is a creative non confining medium. sure you will always have the muso purists that study music theory and methods to death but IMO the most beautiful music has been made by the ones who dared pushed the envelope with their unorthodox style and attitude.

I have somewhat taught myself how to play piano. I used to take lessons, but then I just got sooooo bored with it because it just moved too slow, so I quit. I ended up teaching myself "für elise" by memorization, but haven't had time to learn any others. But, I do find that those few piano lessons just to learn the complete basics did help a lot in understanding how to play piano and to teach myself that song. It's a good foundation. I just like the freedom of being able to skip around to different songs of different difficulty levels and have them be songs that I actually enjoy, rather than those songs learned in lessons, like "Johnny the Postman", or something like that.\