Would you adopt at this time?

I have an older long haired chihuahua. They are wonderful, stubborn and loyal. When I got him he was seven weeks old and super tiny. I took him everywhere and as I worked from home, he wasn’t alone much. We used a baby gate for the puppy training phase with potty pads. Many vets will meet you outside the clinic and take the pup inside for the exam.
The alternative is adopting a senior dog. Less work in most cases.

As far as pet food and training supplies you can get all of it from online shopping. I use Chewy.com and Onlynaturalpet.com

There are so many free training videos on YouTube that will address most any issue that dogs could have.
I did my Master’s thesis on the human animal bonds. They are so important for emotional, physical and psychological well-being, that they could be considered good medicine:heart:
Good luck!
if OP doesn't want a senior with all the potential health issues, she could get a young adult who is already trained but still has puppy in him/her. would also eliminate vet vist for vacccines

Definitely adopt! ...and if you're on the fence.... an alternative to adopting is to foster a pup until the world gets back to normal.

I have a Chihuahua and she's about 8 yrs old. When I first got her, I took her everywhere with me for close to a year (she was so tiny! and I had little doggy purse for her). When she turned 1, she started barking at strangers. So, I had to start leaving her home, which she adapted to just fine. She just hangs out in the sun spots and naps while I'm not home. We go on long walks in the morning + night and lots of cuddles when we sleep :love: We still go on walks now. We just make sure to stay away from other people and aren't out as long as we normally would be.