Legal advices appreciated on using home address as business address

sanity

O.G.
Oct 23, 2006
My sister asked to use my house address as business address for a business set up by a nephew's wife.

What is the legal implication in using my home address as business address? What if she incurs debts? Am I liable for it? In the worse case scenerio, will my house be seized?

If the business is under her name and I join as a partner, what will be the implication? Will my house be affected if the business fails and debts are incurred? In the worse case scenerio, will my house be seized?

I am new to all this and will really appreciate the legal expertise on this. Thks.

Why are they using YOUR address??? What kind of business is this?

It seems very flaky & convoluted. I would think twice beforre signing up for this.

There is a lot to consider. Are they using your address as a return address for mailings or will your address be on checks & listed as the site of the business on paperwork? Are they trying to use your house as collateral for a businnes loan?

1. Why do they want to use your address? Do they not have an address of their own?

2. What type of business are they planning on running?

3. How long will they want to use your address for? Will it only be used as a mailing address or with the business also be registered under this address?

Quite honestly, I wouldn't do it!

She intends to do a recruitment agency for now. She is operating from home.

She wants to use my address as both the registered and mailing addresses.

I do not know how long they intend to use the address. If the agency is successful, it may be long term. Also I am not sure if they will expand into other ventures in the future.