How is your Pandora black Pepe leather holding up?

Gracer0ni

Jul 28, 2015
Hi all! I'm new to Givenchy. Usually am a fan of Balenciaga but recently discovered how smooshy and wonderful Pandora bags are! I would like to get a black Pandora in size small, but am having trouble deciding between the smooth or Pepe leather. Are the both equally soft and smooshy? I like the look of the Pepe but have been reading posts that colored Pepe bags fade with use. Does that apply to the black Pepe bags as well? I want to get whichever leather won't fade or scuff badly on the corners. I also have 2 kids under 5 so won't be able to baby the bag too much :smile: thanks so much for your help!!

I've had my black Pepe Pandora for over a year. It does scuff where the corners are, and wherever it rests on a surface (the front side where the small zipper is). That being said, the Pepe leather's texture means the scuffs blend well. I didn't notice the scuffing until I looked carefully at my bag one day. The scuffs are kind of blue-gray, so it looks like light reflecting off the leather until you look closely.
I ended up using a thin coat of zelikovitz satin top coat on the scuffs. The coat darkens the scuffs and protects them from more wear. The satin finish also works really well with the Pepe finish, just don't apply too much or it will be overly shiny. It's pretty low maintenance, I check every 6 months to see if I need to do another coat, but the bag looks as good as new.
I don't baby my bag by any means.
If you want something with no maintenance, goatskin is the way to go. To me, the goat is smooshier, but I prefer the unique look of the Pepe - I don't have any bags like it. I haven't had any trouble with it after the top coat. It's definitely sturdier than my lambskin Bals.
HTH!

Reactions: CSG