the JADE thread!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Oh! this reminds me of my shopping trip last week with some girlfriends. One of them was looking at engagement rings and one of the shops in the mall had a tiny jade selection which is very unusual in an american mall so of course we had to take a look. They had one bangle which they pulled out for us to look at and we of course, played the guessing game on price tag to see if we could get close.

The bangle was 2/3 white and 1/3 of that apple green that is super popular right now. Pretty thick width and well polished but a pretty coarse grain and opaque, no translucency at all. I guessed around 12k and my friend guessed around 16k.

The store told us it was being sold at 150k. :wtf:

Ok I know I'm no expert and maybe I missed seeing something, but I have been pretty good at guessing within range of a bangle's price and to be over 100k off? As we were leaving, I was whispering to my girlfriends that there was NO way anyone who knew jade would spend that much on THAT bangle. For 150k, I want a bangle that looks like the one Dynasty posted! I guess the store can hope that some clueless westerner comes in and spends that much on it... :lol:

Wow that is a huge price difference!! Honestly I really can't price jade well. If I went to a store and they quoted me a price I would just have to believe it because I don't know any better. I guess whoever bought it for 150k doesn't know any better either.
Assuming that the buyer haggled, I wonder what the store listed it for originally?

That's the thing, I'm not sure if I love it. I want a lavender bangle but I think I would prefer a more even cool lavender with good color in a D or ival shape. Alice's is nicest so far but I def don't want to feel like I'm "settling" for $7k!

If it's not love definitely don't settle!
Hopefully you will have a better sense of it when you try it on again.
Although with love sometimes you know it the second you see it/try it on.