Question about platinum (and some venting)

Hi SuLi, not sure where you are in the metro area, but in Vienna there is an excellent independent store called the Platinum Doctor. He is wonderful to work with and honest too. Which is difficult to find in this area sometimes. He has worked on many of my platinum and 18kt pieces and I have been more than pleased with the results. Also his designed pieces are beautiful. Many of his customers are well known hi profile people in this area and he has been in this business for years.

I'd also recommend, after you figure out what it going on, getting it polished. Platinum scratches very easily, and it is very inexpensive - often free - to get the platinum repolished. That might make a difference with the spot.

But that is really odd. I'm sorry you have to deal with that.

Hi there, first time post, longtime lurker.

I am a professor here at UCLA, and a professional metalworker and solder artist here in California, and I have several suggestions as to what to do and how to test it.

Some times, actually most of the time, when soldering anything, jewelery, sculptures, etc, there are different grades of different metals (copper, polyABT, gold, plat, etc), and with platinum, it is 60% of time, not the only composite in the metal, for example, for wire or small grade smithing, there is a significant amount of hematite mixed in, because when the wire or lump is being pulled through the draw plate, it prevents the platinum from leaving residue on the plate, therefore preventing waste of the precious metal.

If you have a ring from a place like Tiffany & Co, Cartier, Harry Winston, or even Whiteflash, what you are paying for partially is the quality and purity of the metal that is in the piece you have bought, something that a lot of people forget. If you are buying from an independent artisan which is what I think you have implied, then you most likely have been given a ring "cured" (different from plating FYI) with another metal.