How to negotiate price in Pawn shop?

Azimao

O.G.
Jul 16, 2008
Hello all,

I recently come cross a Cartier Tank Midsize SS watch in a local Pawn shop. Serial number was dated 2003. The asking price is $2,800, my budget is around $2,000.

I am not too good at negotiation. Could any one please give me some pointers so that I can get the watch within my budget?

Thanks a bunch! :biggrin:

I'm so glad you posted this. There is a ring, that I'm looking at and I would like to negotiate a lower price. My suggestion, is make sure that you can walk away if they won't take your price. You said your budget is $2,000, well you might want to start lower than your budget to make sure you can stay within your budget. So maybe offer $1600 cash for the watch. This way you have some negotiating leverage and you don't start higher than your maximum budget. Most of the time, they will give you a counter-offer and then you make the offer again maybe $1650 or $1700. Keep it under your budget and make your maximum offer your maximum budget. If they won't budge be willing to walk away, but before you do, say something like "This is my final offer and if you change your mind, I can be reached at (insert phone#). You have more leverage if you plan to pay by cash at most places.

I am not good at negotiation either, but I'm planning a wedding so I've had to learn, fast! Here are a couple tips that I have found work well for me-
- Start the discussion by saying something polite but direct like, "This is a nice watch but it's a little more than I had wanted to pay. Can you do any better on the price?"