DIY Balenciaga Tassel Project

May 16, 2013
Last spring I bought a lovely 2003 Red Weekender *but* it came without tassels on the front or top zipper. I’d dyed spare tassels to match other bags in the past, and knew I could do the same with this, but didn’t get around to it til recently.

I’m very pleased with how they came out, and thought I’d share the process for anyone who might be interested in attempting something similar!

While in the past I’ve tinted existing tassels, this was a bit different because I actually ended up *making* these tassels with some goatskin flat leather cord. Materials, steps, details and pictures below.

Disclaimer: I am not a leathercraft professional by any means, just a dabbler with a fine arts background who enjoys getting crafty to repair, re-love, and extend the life of beautiful things!

Materials

• 5mm flat leather cord (natural)
    • Sidenote - this cord is single faced, so if you’re making a tassel for a regular bag you’ll need to glue it together. If you have an earlier bag with single face tassels, this will work for that too! The 5mm cording also comes in black (tho I haven’t tried it yet vs the natural)
  • Leather dye
    • I use Fiebing’s. I have about 15-20 colors to give myself some options for mixing, as each color has different characteristics. I believe I used 4 to get this red tone.
    • This was a saturated color, but for lighter colors you can use denatured alcohol to dilute the dye if needed.
  • Small cup with sealable lid
    • For holding the dye
  • Eyedropper(s)
    • For controlling dye when mixing
  • Cotton swabs
    • For easy disposable dye sampling
  • Paper towels
    • For easy disposable swatching (+ any cleanup)
  • Wool daubers
    • For dyeing
  • Acrylic leather sealant
    • I used Zelikovitz in matte finish
  • Paintbrush
    • For sealant application
  • Scissors
  • Palette paper
    • For a protective surface

Steps

1. Color match the dye​