The 2021 School Year and Coronavirus

I work in a school office. Right now, because things Change fast these days, the plan is we are opening (no idea how that will look other than desks will be placed 3ft apart) and parents will have to pick to send their child or do a district cyber academy. Those who choose cyber cannot switch back to in person for a certain amount of time, don’t know if it will be for the whole year, first semester or First marking period. Also not sure is those who pick in person can later switch to cyber.

My co-worker who is notorious for spouting one plan and then suddenly doing something else has sworn up and down she was working through June 2021 (I will note she is not concerned about covid) and today said that as she doesn’t want to have to put up with all the coming hoops and doesn’t feel like scraping her car this winter she is retiring ahead of time, but hasn’t said when. So on top of my own stress about what is going to be expected of me in September, I now have to worry about all the uncertainty a new co-worker, whom I sit with 8.5 hours a day, will bring in terms of reliability, work ethic And views on virus management (current person and I agree so it makes things easier). Plus I have to decide if I want to apply for the slightly higher position she is vacating which means new things to do while training someone to do my old job. In the space of a day my stress level tripled.

Well, people want their rights to be ignorant about what's going on and how they're contributing to the pandemic, and teachers are expected to sacrifice their lives in the names of capitalism and free babysitting.