Thoughts on revealing reserve prices?

siworae

O.G.
Jul 20, 2006
I'm just wondering if it's a good idea to disclose the reserve price? I've been buying on ebay for 5 years now, but this is only my 2nd time attempting to sell on ebay... I started the auction at $0.99, and set a reserve. One buyer asked if I would disclose it, and I'm not sure if I should or not? There's still 3 days left, and the reserve has not been met, although there are 14 watchers at the moment.

I am selling a wallet, and it's basically NWT. I purchased it a few months back, but never used it. I've tried searching for previous auctions, but the exact same wallet was not ever for sale recently. The reserve has not been met yet, but judging by the number of watchers and inquiries I've received, there seems to be a lot of interest in it.

I know some sellers will tell buyers, but others refuse (not sure why?)

Don't let the # of watchers lull you into a sense of false selling security-I have had double digit watchers on things, was sure I was going to SELL MY ITEM and then, all the watchers just turned and waved bye! to the item as it went into Unsold. With regards to the reserve, sometimes people ask just to gauge how realistic you are (to them)-depending on the scarcity, name value, of whatever it is-some people want to draw you out and get you to end the auction and sell it to them at the reserve-you never know. The other thing that made me read it twice was "basically" NWT-either it is or it isn't, people may be hung up somewhere-since no one has bid, you can revise your auction, depending again on how badly you want to sell it-don't forget, too, these coming days are going to be bad for sellers, most people right now are on the verge of being tapped out-good luck!

It can only work in your favor to disclose your reserve price.