Workplace Salary Negotiations

kittie

Oct 21, 2007
Hi everyone! I'm still fairly new to the boards but you all seem to be such a wealth of information I thought this would be a great place to get some input.

I just got offered a job at a medium sized consulting company. I'm a new graduate and this is my first "real" job so I'm pretty excited. They called me yesterday to tell me they are choosing me over 2 other candidates and would email me the offer today. The HR girl I spoke to said that if I had any questions or concerns, then just to call her. If I was to accept the offer, then just sign it and fax it in. We have never discussed salary expectations in any previous meetings.

So I get the offer today and it is significantly lower than what is considered competitive in the industry and is not in line with my city's high cost of living. However, I do understand that I am a new graduate with no real work experience and thats not something a company would considered a "valued candidate". Plus, I was chosen over 2 other people so its not like it would be hard to find someone to take my place. I just really don't know what do to or what to think of the situation.

So what do you guys think? Should I even try to negotiate a higher salary? If so, how do you go about doing that?! I am SO lost on how to even initiate a conversation like that!

Edit: They expect an answer by 4:30pm tomorrow so FAST input would really be appreciated!

Hi there -