One of the SADDEST days of my life

Status
Not open for further replies.

BlueBunny

Jun 12, 2006
Hello dear PFers. Haven't posted in a while. Just wanted to share my day with you all.
As some of you know, I'm a medical student. I'm basically finishing my rotations this year, and I'm on my last specialty rotation, namely internal medicine.
Today I met an extraordinary man. Here's his story.

He's a 40 year old African American man with no real past medical history. He presented to the ER today with urine leaking out of his penis. Sound normal, right? NO. This man is a quadriplegic. He has a catheter that goes into his bladder from his suprapubic area. So, the urine should be going into the catheter and not emptying out his penis. So that's why he was in the ER. But here's the saddest part.

This gentelman used to be a taxi driver here in Chicago. Five years ago, he was about to get into his car when a bullet hits him in the spine, at the level of C5. Which means you're paralyzed from the neck down, with very minimal hand function. Five days later he wakes up in the hospital with his wife by his side. To this day, no one knows what happened. They think it was a stray bullet. They never found the person who did it.

A couple years later, he had both his legs amputated up to his hip because of an infection to the bones called osteomyelitis. So, I walk into his room with my attending to speak to him about our plan to treat him. He's just a stump in the bed. His wrists are soooo hyperflexed that his hands look like stumps. BUT.....