Legal question....

twinkie

~Mrs. G~
O.G.
Apr 1, 2006
I have kind of a strange question for any lawyers or legal buffs out there--

Let's say I am "shopping" around for a divorce lawyer. If I consult with an attorney regarding a potential divorce, but do not retain them, can my husband still potentially retain them even if they have already seen me for a consultation? That was a long sentence and I hope it makes sense!

TIA!!:flowers:

I don’t know if I’ve seen this in a movie or read it in a magazine. But it was about a woman wanting to divorce her husband goes out to every “big-shot” divorce lawyers in town for consultation so the husband cannot subsequently hire/retain them due to potential conflicts.

I’m not an ethics expert but to the best of my knowledge, an attorney-client relationship arises whether you ultimately “retain” him/her. Hypothetically, the content of your initial consultation with Attorney A, for example, in anticipation of retaining him/her will be privileged attorney-client communication although you ultimately decide against hiring Attorney A at a later time. In turn, Attorney A is prevented from disclosing those confidential communication learned from you to anyone, including your husband, even if your husband retains Attorney A. Attorney A cannot represent your husband because there are information that he learns from you that he CANNOT use to facilitate his representation of your husband without violating the privilege. Does that make sense? :angel:

**Now comes the disclaimer: all the information is the opinion of mine for the purposes of this hypothetical and discussion. You should consult your attorney in your own state for any further legal questions/advice. Nothing written above should constitute the formation of an attorney-client relationship.**

Anyone else wants to chip in? :flowers: