Ladies, I really need your help right now...

MarieG

Platinum Member
O.G.
Jun 9, 2006
I graduated from college in June in Political Science and International Relations and just completed a six month internship with the UN Headquarters in NY. I have already been accepted for a Masters in International Relations, Peace and Conflict Resolution in Australia and will be returning to Australia next Saturday as my fiancé lives there.

So, from a career stand point, I am in a really good position to advance my skills and, coming from parents that are a Dr and Prof Dr and with a brother in foreign services this is exactly the way to go.

However, I am just not really sure about what I want to do right now. I would actually be kind of interested in working in HR. I have not told my family about this as I know that no one in my family would approve of this choice and I am not even sure if I will find something good even though I really wish I would.

I just don't feel like studying right now but I am scared that this might be a stupid thing to do. My semester starts on 26 Feb and I need to have found a job until then to justify not continuing my masters and I don't even know if I would be an eligible candidate for an HR job. I am so confused... I have applied to a few jobs and have one interview for a marketing and sales graduate job as soon as I get back and am yet to hear from the rest of the companies I applied to...

I am very happy to be with my fiancé who is very successful in the finance field and would not mind working for a few years in the HR department of a good, international company (even though I don't know if they would even hire me considering I don't have an HR degree).

I can't talk to my family about this as they would be shocked about this and would just try to talk me out of it until I give in.