hermes birkin: why so expensive?

xoEmily

Jan 13, 2006
I personally find the birkin a beautiful handbag, but why is it so expensive?! Until I strike gold or oil or some other source of cash, I am NOT about to spend $10 000+ on a purse, especially since I'm a student.

Could somebody please fill me in as to why these bags are so expensive? I'm familiar with $1000-$2000 handbags, but $13 000?!

Definitely the handmade craftsmanship, plus the exclusivity. Actually, these bags are so special that of the few that have them, most of those have only a few. With the $1000 handbags, you could have several and get tired of them after a while. With Birkins, you tend to have a few, but they're with you forever, and you can pass them down to future generations. You can also get them maintained so that they're kept from looking too old. With other designer bags, you're pretty much on your own.

I personally find the birkin a beautiful handbag, but why is it so expensive?! Until I strike gold or oil or some other source of cash, I am NOT about to spend $10 000+ on a purse, especially since I'm a student.

Could somebody please fill me in as to why these bags are so expensive? I'm familiar with $1000-$2000 handbags, but $13 000?!
:rolleyes: It is all about the quality of the leather. The craftsmanship. Things like that.

There is nothing in this world like Hermes leather quality and craftsmanship. Each bag is handmade and as far as the Birkin is concerned, it takes 1 craftsman roughly 18 hours to make just one bag. As soon as you hold an Hermes bag your hands, you will understand the price.

handmade, quality of leather is very, very different to other designer bags, and of course, exclusivity as well..and last but not the least, its history