Help - new Chelsea with squeaky leather!

jnjrgrl

Dec 30, 2007
I just received my first Coach bag for Christmas. I believe it's the Chelsea Optic Signature Small Flap bag. It has a braided strap and the strap connects to the bag by metal rings. Anyway, at both of these places (the strap itself and where it attaches to the rings) the leather "squeaks" like crazy .

Will this go away as the leather is broken in? Do I need to apply conditioner? I really don't want to return it but it "squeaks" (quite loudly) with every move!

Any advice???

:sad:

My carly did that also. But after awhile of heavy use i think the noise is less or i just don't notice it anymore. My husband says its the sound of expensive leather hehe. It doesn't really bother me though.

i love the chelsea optic! Ill be more than glad to take it off your hands....lol I got a ton of gift cards for Xmas and plan on buying that one!

he he...I actually love it, too - just wasn't sure about the squeakiness. I'm new to Coach but I can see it may very easily become an addiction!

I've been dying to use it since I got it last week, but have been afraid to cut off the tags in the event that I wanted to exchange it (due to the noise). I guess I'll just have to take the plunge and use it a LOT and hope the noise decreases with use...:shame:

If you do exchange her, what are your options?

Not sure - she was bought at a department store rather than a Coach store (my boyfriend had no idea what to get me and just wandered around the store until he found something he liked). I think their selection might be a bit more limited than a dedicated Coach store. The Hamptons Signature Small Flap, the Hamptons Signature Medium Carryall, and the Chelsea Signature Small Flap are similarly priced on the Coach website, but at the dept store the Carryall is quite a bit more and they don't have the other two listed.