Ever had a purse STOLEN!?

That would suck! I couldn't imagine it either.
It happened in my town a couple of months ago. The woman got caught (partially because this is a small town only 40,000 people). She straight took it from another woman on the street! I didn't even think that this kind of steeling still took place these days.

Yes during a shoe sale. I was trying on so many shoes at Bergdorf Goodmans in NYC and there were so many people around. When I went to go pay for my shoes, I couldn't find my bag. It's a good thing I know all my cc numbers by heart so I could report them stolen. I still bought the shoes!! LOL It sucked mostly because I had to walk home. It was a PITA to replace my drivers license and what not.

Not my purse but had my wallet stolen. Actually, I was a freshman in college and I left my wallet behind on the sink in the bathroom. I guess I'd taken it out to retrieve another item from the bottom of my bag.

Anyway, someone 'found' my wallet and actually used my checks!!! Oh, it was a mess. I eventually ended up having to go to court as a witness against the woman who stole my checks. She was actually an assistant in the registrars office and apparently she'd been stealing money and checks from a lot of people on campus!! CRAZY.

I was so naive back then that I didn't even think that someone would write out my checks or use my credit card. I didn't even report my checks or credit card stolen right away! By the time I reported it to my bank the woman had already forged 6 of my checks!

Anyway, went to court along with other people she'd stolen from as a witness and we ended up not even speaking in court. We just sat and watched the proceedings. She got off lightly IMO. She was required to pay restitution but she only got 3 years probation..with time served only being 30 days!!!

She did pay restitution however. She wrote out 450 dollars in checks from my account made out as if I'd written the check to her.