attention all tPFers in the Pacific Northwest!

amanda

I Bleed Georgia Red
Oct 18, 2005
hey you guys, i'm a college student as a lot of you know, and i'm looking to move when i graduate in a year and a half. there are several areas of the country that are on my list to find out about, and Portland and Seattle (but more Portland) are up there. are jobs plentiful? is housing reasonably priced? how's the weather? how's the shopping? how're the people? anything you can tell me and any reviews you can give me would be very helpful! TIA!

The job market here in Portland has been sucky for years, but it all depends on your profession.

Housing has skyrocketed. It's truly insane here. I'm paying more for an apartment now than I used to pay for my mortgage! And it's one of the cheapest apartments in the area!

People are friendly in general.

The weather? I came from the Midwest, so it was definitely a change. You have to be able to deal with rain and gray skies. A lot of people do find this difficult.

Gosh..I didn't mean to make this sound so negative! LOL It's just that the sucky job market and the skyrocketing housing prices have really detracted from the quality of life here.

aww, no fun. lol but don't feel bad for making it sound bad, i want to know the truth! it's just one area that i'm looking at, so you're not crushing my dreams or anything!

i :heart: portland!

i've lived in oregon my entire life and although i wouldn't mind living somewhere else for a few years just for a change, i really can't imagine living far from here for very long. where else in the country can you get to the mountains and the beach within an hour?

it is rainy and grey in the winter (but portland is sunnier than where i am currently, so even that seems better to me :smile:). that might be a hard transistion from the south....but it's beautiful and green all year round, which can't be said for a lot of the country. the summers are great! mild and sunny.