Questions About Spy Bags from a Total NEWBIE!

beth001

Purse Slut
O.G.
Dec 14, 2006
Newbie to the Fendi threads here...

Just a year ago, my closet was stuffed with old Carlos Falchi and Coach bags and a Dooney or two, and a few Hayden-Harnetts as well as some unusual Italian leather finds. And then I discovered THE PURSE FORUM!:yahoo:

Over the past year I've sold most of the Falchis, Coaches, and Dooneys (or have given them away,) and I now own a Chloe Paddington and a Balenciaga Twiggy and several Louis Vuittons (mmmmm... yummy!) and I was feeling s-a-t-i-s-f-i-e-d. And then it happened. I was walking through the Buffalo International Airport one day last week, and while waiting for my luggage to make it to the pickup area, I wandered into the airport store and discovered Fendi Spy Bags. TDF! (Why oh why did this have to happen to me?) Of course, I've been all over the Fendi threads on tpf since then.

So, now I am just chock-full of questions!
1. Is the Spy still as HOT as it was a few years ago? Does it have staying power?
2. How heavy of a bag is a Spy? I am contemplating selling my Chloe Paddington (a really beautiful 2005 chocolate) because that lock, while gorgeous, really adds weight.
3. I love my LV Speedy 30's. How does the Spy compare in terms of size, finding things inside, and carrying style? What I mean is, the Speedy can go in hand or over arm/wrist, but not over the shoulder. Can you carry the Spy comfortably over your shoulder?
4. Is the whole handle and secret compartment business really functional or is it a gimmick?

I have my eye on purchasing a Chocolate Spy, and I would be willing to sell several other bags in my closet to finance it. Worth it? Will I be happy ever after? Any and all opinions welcome.

Hi! Welcome, Beth.

To answer your questions...