Balenciage newbie w/many stupid questions....

Hello all, as the posting title suggests, I'm totally new to B-bags. I'm considering getting one, but it seems I have a lot to learn! A friend on another forum helped me out with a list of places in the bay area that sell them, but I have a few other questions.

First of all, from looking through the pics here, I think I want a city bag- is this a current style?

What are the chances of having a good selection of colors? I want either black or something with some pop, preferably red or bright pink...is this something that I could reasonable expect to find without waiting for months?

And finally, perhaps the dumbest question of all...how much do these cost? I'm sure I could call up the store and ask but I'm a little embarassed to do so. I just want to know if its something in my price range (up to probably $1,000) or if I should look at other brands for my next purchase.

Thanks for your help!

The city is a current style. Black is made every year so it shouldn't be to hard to find. A red was made f/w 06 and s/s 07, so it should be available too. The city costs around $1200, but you can probably find it a little cheaper on ebay - gently used. But BEWARE of fakes, you should post in the authenticate-thread before you buy anything! Good luck ;)

If you prefer to buy a new one, you can contact the Balenciaga store in NY to see what they have in stock. The city is $1195 but they do not charge taxes or shipping : )

Thanks for the info! I also noticed I spelled BALENCIAGA wrong in the title of my post, making me feel even more retarded... I know the right spelling, it was just a typo, I swear!

Welcome to the bbag addiction!! And yes, I say addiction - because just wait until you have one... ;)