Work Drama and Health ...

koukanamiya

It is what it is
May 25, 2006
Sorry but I really have to get this off my chest (again) because I'm extremely stressed out. 2007 has not been a good year for me so far and it's not even February yet. I'm really wishing this year to be over soon. My work situation is just getting worse and worse. I used to be able to use work to escape the other stressful aspect of my life, and now I really have no other means of stress relief.

Let me take a brief moment to explain my department's structure. I'm a financial analyst in the Capital Market/Structured Finance dept. The Repurchase Dept (dept that buys back crappy loans) is right next to mine. Both my dept and the Repurchase Dept falls under the jurisdiction of my boss. I'm the ONLY person who can do the stuff at my dept and I have been pretty busy because I had to pull all the weight. The Repurchase Dept is short-staffed and they were way behind on things because of poor management. So, now I am helping them get caught up on things. That in itself shouldn't be a problem except the people at the Repurchase Dept were always whining and b!tching about how they have too much work.

Here's the thing, these were the SAME people who spent their time taking personal phone calls and excessive breaks. However, because they sat far away from my boss, my boss didn't know what was going on. And since they were constantly whining and made it look as though they were swamped, my boss decided that I was to take half of these people's duties. The thing is, I AM busy too. I was swamped too. Just because I was actually efficient and do my job doesn't mean I have nothing else to do. Unfortunately, if I speak up, they're just going to interpret it as my not being able to handle my responsibility (yes, serious double standards going on here, just because I don't whine like some ppl do).