Why do sellers require confirmed address?

beaute

Feb 12, 2007
I'm fairly new to eBay, I wasn't able to use it before because, well most transactions over eBay require payment through PayPal, and PayPal was not supported in my country until very recently (I'm talking 3-month recently). I don't use cheques and it is fairly uneasy for me to send money orders. So I used to do all my eBay shopping using Western Union money transfers, it was a pain and I can't say I didn't get robbed, cuz I obviously did (about $600-worth, eBay even removed the neg feedback I left for the seller and kept the neg he gave me, but that's a different story). But I managed to stay around.

Now that I finally have the luxury of PayPal (send privillages only, no receiving, so I can't really sell anything), I find it that many sellers would require confirmed addresses. I don't understand why. PayPal does not offer address confirmation for international accounts, only account verification and I already verified that, so why complicate things?

What makes things worse is that some sellers won't even ship internationally. Again, I have to ask, why not? Since I will cover all shipping & handling charges, just why on earth won't you ship to me?

A lot of Sellers will only ship to Confirmed Addresses because that's the only way Paypal protects them.
There's less protection for Sellers when they ship out of their country, that's why some won't.

Sellers who post to an unconfirmed address will not be protected if the buyer does a chargeback. I certainly will ship internationally & will send to an unconfirmed address if the buyer has good feedback or if there is no much feedback the buyer can send me proof of identity i.e. that they actually live at the address where the credit card is billed to.