Who has experience with fostering and/or MinPins?

1. Sign up to become a TPF member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It's free and quick to sign up, so join the discussion right now!
    Dismiss Notice
Our PurseForum community is made possible by displaying online advertisements to our visitors.
Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker. Thank you!
  1. I have just recently decided to apply to foster MinPins in need of homes in my area. There are two organizations near me, and I have never fostered before!

I currently have two chihuahuas: Diesel, my black-and-tan 2 year old 5-6 lb male, and Coco, my brown-and-white 6 month old 4-lb female. I don't have kids, so that's not a problem. I do have a nice big backyard with a long run that I hook the dogs' leashes to.

I have no experience with MinPins or fostering specifically, but I am pretty experienced will small breeds and I looooove MinPins.

So, anybody got any suggestions/advice/stories to share?

2. ^I plan on fostering when I get my own house (hopefully within a year!!) so I can't offer you any advice, but just wanted to say that you are so awesome!!! You are going to have so much impact on so many lives!

3. I have fostered doxies. The one thing to remember is that you might be the first normal person to get the doggie if it is a rescue or shelter dog. That means you may need to work with the dog on house breaking if it needs a refresher or never learned, leash walking, socialization skills, etc. Many rescues have been abused or never socialized so they need some help. But I can tell you that almost 100% of dogs, once they are fostered in a calm, humane home where they can learn they flourish and learn very quickly. It can be very rewarding! It is also hard not to fall for each dog that come over, but if you trust your rescue organization you know that the home will be a good one. And finally, I have had calls at 1AM saying "we are coming with a dog" so be ready and flexible!