Which styles of Chanel tend to go on sale?

tweetie

O.G.
Jul 23, 2006
I'm new to Chanel, and am interested in starting off with a classic flap in caviar (probably white or red since I have too much black) and maybe another tote for work like the Cerf or the Cambon.

While reading the posts, it seems like some of you have been able to pick up some AMAZING deals at Saks with 40% off, etc... Is that normal? Is that just for really trendy styles like the Cambon reporter, or seasonal colors/materials like tweed and pink? Do the ones I want ever go on sale?

Just curious if I should try to hold out?? (40% off would allow me to buy 2 bags!! :graucho: )

My Neiman's has had both the Cambons and the Tweeds on sale during their store sale times. I'd probably wait awhile if I were you...there was just a sale going on but I think some stores might still have it going on now? I haven't been to NM for quite awhile so I don't know for sure.

No sales anymore. They are done. If you find a sale bag now, it's due to a return. Classic bags don't go on sale. However the tweeds and cambons are the ones you see. My Chanel boutique has had the same 3 tweed bags on sale since June.

I've never seen a classic go on sale. Usually just the trendy stuff. However, if you know anyone who works at Saks or Neiman's and they're willing... you can get 30% off!

Swanky Mama Of Three said:
^weird info! My BF used to work for NM and said anyone offering a discount gets fired on the spot.

You're right about that. My mother in law works there though so she'll get me one, occasionally, as long as she can borrow it. ;) They do offer friends and family discounts though a couple of times a year.

Saks, on the other hand, has no problem with this at all.

^yes, my girlfriend scored a few great items for me during their litle shopping for friends at Christmas period.
But you said the SA can offer you 30%? It's not true here.